PAC: human rights, human security, sustainable development Canadian and African civil society organizations working together on issues of human rights, human security and sustainable development Partnership Africa Canada
PAC Ressources ActivitÚs human rights, human security, sustainable development accueil English
 
Aper´┐Żu du programme

Secteurs d'´┐Żtude
  Sierra Leone
  Afrique de l'Ouest
  Congo/Afrique
    centrale
  Afrique australe
  Centres de
    commerce,de taille
    et de polissage
  Responsabilit´┐Ż des
     soci´┐Żt´┐Żs


Autres Facettes

Contactez-nous

 

 

 

´┐Żtude d'int´┐Żgration sur les questions reli´┐Żes ´┐Ż la responsabilit´┐Ż des soci´┐Żt´┐Żs et au r´┐Żle des programmes ´┐Żconomiques dans les conflits civils

Ce projet comprend un volet d'int´┐Żgration qui tirera les le´┐Żons des autres ´┐Żtudes au fur et ´┐Ż mesure qu'elles para´┐Żtront et que s'´┐Żtabliront leurs rapports avec la question g´┐Żn´┐Żrale des programmes ´┐Żconomiques dans les conflits civils. Il examinera aussi les questions reli´┐Żes ´┐Ż l'investissement ´┐Żtranger dans les zones de conflit ainsi qu'au r´┐Żle l´┐Żgitime du secteur priv´┐Ż dans la protection des investissements dans les zones o´┐Ż la s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż se d´┐Żt´┐Żriore. Les travaux entrepris dans le cadre de cette ´┐Żtude engageront les gouvernements, les entreprises du secteur priv´┐Ż et les organismes de r´┐Żglementation des investissements dans des discussions sur des activit´┐Żs de sensibilisation, d'´┐Żlaboration de politiques et sur le r´┐Żle des codes de conduite.

Les particuliers, les soci´┐Żt´┐Żs et les organisations qui se sont int´┐Żress´┐Żs ´┐Ż la question des diamants de guerre au cours des deux derni´┐Żres ann´┐Żes se sont ´┐Żtonn´┐Żs et r´┐Żjouis des progr´┐Żs r´┐Żalis´┐Żs ´┐Ż ce jour. On a donn´┐Ż suite, du moins en partie, ´┐Ż bon nombre des principales recommandations de Au c´┐Żur du probl´┐Żme et l'on r´┐Żalise des progr´┐Żs concernant les syst´┐Żmes, les garanties, les organismes de r´┐Żglementation et les mesures politiques, qui vont bien au-del´┐Ż de ce que la plupart des critiques avaient esp´┐Żr´┐Ż seulement six mois auparavant. Les raisons du d´┐Żblocage et de sa vitesse sont peut-´┐Żtre ´┐Żvidentes maintenant, bien qu'il n'´┐Żtait pas facile de les pr´┐Żvoir :

  • Avec la publication de Au c´┐Żur du probl´┐Żme, les ´┐Ż diamants de guerre ´┐Ż sont devenus un sujet d'actualit´┐Ż incontournable ´┐Ż l'´┐Żchelle internationale. Le premier rapport du groupe d'experts de l'ONU sur l'Angola (Mars 2000)en a remis, et les attaques du RUF en mai 2000 ont fait passer le sujet des pages d'int´┐Żr´┐Żt g´┐Żn´┐Żral aux grandes manchettes;

  • Les ONG en cause - Global Witness et PAC tout d'abord, et d'autres par la suite – étaient tenaces et savaient traiter avec les médias, mais elles étaient prêtes à engager l'industrie du diamant dans un dialogue constructif lorsque l'occasion s'est présentée. Cela a transformé un climat d'accusations mutuelles et de dénégation en un débat plus constructif;

  • L'industrie du diamant, craignant les cons´┐Żquences d'une campagne aupr´┐Żs des consommateurs, a ´┐Żcout´┐Ż les critiques et a pris des mesures;

  • Les diamants sont une ressource importante pour de nombreux pays, et plusieurs gouvernements, dirig´┐Żs par l'Afrique du Sud, ont ´┐Żgalement commenc´┐Ż ´┐Ż prendre des mesures avant qu'une industrie qui cr´┐Że de l'emploi et verse des imp´┐Żts consid´┐Żrables ne subisse des dommages.

Il reste ´┐Żvidemment beaucoup ´┐Ż faire. Il faut cr´┐Żer des conseils, et ´┐Żlaborer et appliquer des processus de certification et des lois. Cela prendra ´┐Ż la fois du temps et un dialogue constructif entre les gouvernements, l'industrie et les organisations de la soci´┐Żt´┐Ż civile int´┐Żress´┐Żes. Mais le temps est une chose dont ne disposent pas les habitants de la Sierra Leone, de l'Angola et du Congo, touch´┐Żs par la guerre. Les guerres et les atrocit´┐Żs se poursuivent. On compte aujourd'hui plus de r´┐Żfugi´┐Żs provenant de la Sierra Leone que de tout autre pays d'Afrique, et la moiti´┐Ż de la population du pays a ´┐Żt´┐Ż d´┐Żplac´┐Że. Dans une bonne partie du pays, les ´┐Żcoles et les cliniques sont encore ferm´┐Żes, comme elles le sont depuis des ann´┐Żes. Le RUF continue de r´┐Żgner en ma´┐Żtre sur les r´┐Żgions diamantif´┐Żres.

Certaines conclusions provisoires relatives ´┐Ż la question des diamants et de l'´┐Żconomie politique du conflit s'imposent. Les victimes ´┐Ż civils, femmes, enfants ´┐Ż sont la dimension la plus poignante et perturbante du probl´┐Żme. Les victimes, toutefois, sont toujours le sympt´┐Żme d'un probl´┐Żme de plus grande envergure. Deuxi´┐Żmement, l'att´┐Żnuation des sympt´┐Żmes exige donc qu'on s'attaque aux causes. Les diamants ne causent pas le conflit, mais ils en sont la monnaie d'´┐Żchange et ils ont fourni au RUF, ´┐Ż l'UNITA, aux rebelles du Congo et ´┐Ż une foule de pr´┐Żdateurs des motifs ´┐Żconomiques convaincants et des occasions ´┐Żvidentes. Une troisi´┐Żme conclusion ´┐Ż peut-´┐Żtre une observation ´┐Ż veut qu'une fois la fonction de cette monnaie d'´┐Żchange et les motifs qui la sous-tendent devenus ´┐Żvidents pour l'industrie du diamant, pour les gouvernements et pour les responsables des campagnes, des consid´┐Żrations ´┐Żconomiques ont motiv´┐Ż la recherche de solutions ´┐Żconomiques.

Ce n'est pas d'hier que les mouvements rebelles agissent pour des motifs ´┐Żconomiques et commerciaux. Mais, traditionnellement, les programmes ´┐Żconomiques sont loin des pr´┐Żoccupations de la plupart des organismes humanitaires, qu'ils soient bilat´┐Żraux, multilat´┐Żraux ou non gouvernementaux. Dans la mesure o´┐Ż des solutions ´┐Ż la question des diamants du conflit se dessinent, il faut en tirer la le´┐Żon que les relativement faibles investissements affect´┐Żs ´┐Ż ce jour ´┐Ż la compr´┐Żhension du probl´┐Żme ´┐Ż par les gouvernements britannique, canadien, belge et am´┐Żricain ainsi que par les Nations Unies et une poign´┐Że d'ONG ´┐Ż se sont av´┐Żr´┐Żs fort rentables.

Les questions de s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż sont de toute premi´┐Żre importance en ce qui a trait ´┐Ż tout effort d'extraction des diamants; les ´┐Żchecs des services de s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż, tant gouvernementaux que priv´┐Żs, ont engendr´┐Ż, en partie, un comportement opportuniste et pr´┐Żdateur. Le recours aux entreprises de s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż priv´┐Żes n'est pas nouveau dans l'industrie du diamant; mais au cours de la derni´┐Żre d´┐Żcennie, on a vu se multiplier les pr´┐Żoccupations au sujet de l'´┐Żrosion de la souverainet´┐Ż nationale et de l'octroi de concessions mini´┐Żres en retour de la protection des gouvernements nationaux. La question des entreprises de s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż priv´┐Żes a ´┐Żt´┐Ż soulev´┐Że ´┐Ż maintes reprises en Sierra Leone, en Angola et au Congo, et demeure d'actualit´┐Ż.

Une autre question a trait ´┐Ż la nature, la capacit´┐Ż et la capitalisation des petites entreprises mini´┐Żres qui ont ´┐Żt´┐Ż attir´┐Żes par l'extraction des diamants en Afrique. Cette question a ´┐Żt´┐Ż examin´┐Że dans le rapport de la phase 1 de PAC sur la Sierra Leone, mais la question plus g´┐Żn´┐Żrale de l'attrait d'investisseurs dignes de confiance et comp´┐Żtents en Afrique, particuli´┐Żrement dans les situations post´┐Żrieures ´┐Ż un conflit, m´┐Żrite d'´┐Żtre approfondie. Des rapports d'int´┐Żgration sur ces questions et d'autres ´┐Żmanant des divers domaines d'´┐Żtude seront affich´┐Żs sur ce site au fur et ´┐Ż mesure de leur disponibilit´┐Ż.

ˆ haut de page

accueil || english
contactez-nous
  PAC || Ressources || Activités || PACRES
La s´┐Żcurit´┐Ż humaine et le commerce international des diamants en Afrique

PAC: human rights, human security, sustainable development Canadian and African civil society organizations working together on issues of human rights, human security and sustainable development Partnership Africa Canada
About PAC Resources and links PAC activities PACNET listserv archive human rights, human security, sustainable development PAC home Contact PAC Partenariat Afrique Canada, les droits de la personne, la sécurité humaine, le développement durable
 
Program overview

Study Areas
  Sierra Leone
  West Africa
  Congo/Central Africa
  Southern Africa
  Trading, Cutting and
     Polishing Centres
  Corporate
     Responsibility


Other Facets

Contact us

 

 

 

Integrative Study on Issues Relating to Corporate Responsibility and the Role of Economic Agendas in Civil Conflict

The project includes an integrative feature that will distill lessons from the other studies as they emerge, and as they relate to the broad issue of economic agendas in civil conflict. It will also examine issues relating to foreign investment in areas of conflict, and the legitimate role of the private sector in protecting investments in areas of deteriorating security. Work undertaken as part of this study area will engage governments, private sector firms and investor regulatory bodies in discussion on awareness-raising activities, policy development and the role of codes of conduct.

Individuals, companies and organizations involved in the issue of conflict diamonds over the past two years have been surprised and pleased by the progress that has been made so far. Many of the major recommendations in The Heart of the Matter have been at least partially addressed, and progress is being made on systems, warranties, regulatory bodies and political action that go far beyond what most critics had hoped for only six months earlier. The reasons for the movement and the speed are perhaps obvious now, although they could not easily have been foreseen:

  • with the publication of The Heart of the Matter, 'conflict diamonds' became a compelling international news story. The first UN Panel of Experts Report on Angola (March 2000) added fuel to it, and the RUF attacks in May 2000 converted the story from human interest to hard copy;

  • the NGOs involved - Global Witness and PAC at first, and others later - were tenacious and media-savvy, but they were prepared to engage the diamond industry in constructive dialogue when the opportunity arose. This transformed a climate of mutual accusation and denial into a more constructive debate;

  • the diamond industry, fearing a damaging consumer campaign, listened to the critics and took action;

  • diamonds are an important resource for many countries, and several governments, led by South Africa, also began to take action before damage could be inflicted on an industry that creates employment and pays significant taxes.

Much, of course, remains to be done. The councils, certification processes and legislation must be created and enforced. This will take both time and constructive dialogue between governments, industry and interested civil society organizations. But time is one thing that the Sierra Leoneans, Angolans and Congolese affected by war do not have. The wars and atrocities continue. There are more Sierra Leonean refugees today, for example, than from any other country in Africa, and half the country's population has been displaced. Schools and clinics in much of the country remain closed, as they have been for years. The RUF continues to hold the diamond areas.

There are some over-arching interim conclusions to the issue of diamonds and the political economy of conflict. The victims - civilians, women, children - are the most poignant and disturbing aspect of the problem. Victims, however, are always symptomatic of something bigger. Secondly, therefore, alleviating symptoms requires work on causes. Diamonds do not cause conflict, but they are its currency, and they have provided the RUF, UNITA, Congolese rebels and a vast array of predators with strong economic motivation and obvious opportunity. A third conclusion - perhaps an observation - is that once the function of, and motivation behind this currency became apparent to the diamond industry, to governments and to campaigners, economic considerations have driven the search for economic solutions.

Economic and commercial motivation among rebel movements is not a new thing. But economic agendas have traditionally been far removed from the work of most humanitarian agencies, whether bilateral, multilateral or nongovernmental. To the extent that solutions to the issue of conflict diamonds are now in train, the lesson here is that the relatively small investments in understanding the issue so far - made by the British, Canadian, Belgian and American governments, the United Nations and a handful of NGOs, have proven to be good value for money.

Security issues are a primary concern in relation to any diamond mining effort, and the failure of security services, both governmental and private, has led, in part, to opportunistic and predatory behaviour. The use of private security firms is not new to the diamond industry but in the past decade it has become fraught with concerns about eroding national sovereignty and the issue of mining concessions being granted in return for the protection of national governments. The issue of private security firms has surfaced repeatedly in Sierra Leone, Angola and Congo, and remains current.

A further issue has to do with the nature, capacity and capitalization of small 'junior' firms that have been drawn into African diamond mining. This issue was explored in PAC's Phase I report on Sierra Leone, but the broader question of attracting reputable, capable mining investors to Africa, especially to post-conflict situations, is one that requires further amplification.

Integrative reports on these issues and others that emerge from the different study areas will be posted in the RESOURCES section of this site. Search Resources using key words such as "diamond" or "civil conflict".

April 2001

ˆ top

home || français
contact us
  About PAC || Resources || Activities || PACNET
Human Security and Diamonds in Africa